Skip Navigation
Khaketla MS'88, PhD'91

The Big Ten Conference, formerly the Western Conference and the Big Nine Conference, was founded in 1896 to regulate intercollegiate athletics, and is the oldest Division I collegiate athletic conference in the United States. Fourteen world-class universities are members of the Big Ten Conference, including UW-Madison, with Maryland and Rutgers joining the conference for the 2014-15 season.

Although the term "Big Ten" has nothing to do with academic rankings, one major focus of the conference is the quality education of student athletes.

More From Ask Flamingle HQ

Discover the many ways you can live a more Badger-filled life by paging through WAA’s comprehensive guide. Get the guide >