Skip Navigation

American Board of Radiology appoints new medical physics trustee: Matthew Podgorsak

Feb. 23, 2017
Category: Career

American Board of Radiology appoints new medical physics trustee

The American Board of Radiology (ABR) has appointed Matthew B. Podgorsak, PhD, FAAPM, to its Board of Trustees, effective February 1, 2017. He fills the position previously held by Michael G. Herman, PhD, FAAPM.
Dr. Podgorsak has a 13-year history of volunteer service to the ABR and previously received a Volunteer Service Award. He has served on question-writing committees and also as an oral examiner.

A specialist in therapeutic medical physics, Dr. Podgorsak is currently chief physicist of Roswell Park Cancer Institute’s Department of Radiation Medicine in Buffalo, New York. He is also associate professor in the Department of Molecular and Cellular Biophysics at the Roswell Park Graduate Division, University at Buffalo, SUNY.

Dr. Podgorsak received his undergraduate degrees at McGill University in Montreal, Canada, and his PhD in the Department of Medical Physics at the University of Wisconsin in Madison.

From December 1993 through August 1998, Dr. Podgorsak served as staff physicist in the Department of Radiation Medicine at Roswell Park Cancer Institute, becoming its chief physicist in September 1998. In 2008, he was appointed associate professor in the Department of Physiology and Biophysics at the University at Buffalo, SUNY, where he continues to mentor students enrolled in the Department’s graduate medical physics program.

Dr. Podgorsak is a Fellow of the American Association of Physicists in Medicine, and he holds associate memberships in the American Society for Radiation Oncology and the American College of Radiation Oncology. His research interests include stereotactic radiosurgery and the principles and practices of volumetric modulated arc therapy, and he is the author and co-author of numerous publications.

More Alumni Notes

Stanley Frey ’85 was named Honeywell’s Distinguished Technologist for 2022 at the annual Honeywell Technology Symposium.