Badger of the Year Awards

Meet your Badger of the Year Award recipients. Across the nation, these alumni are making a difference in their local communities, and Badger spirit shines in their service.

“Badgers are living the Wisconsin Idea every day.”Sarah Schutt

Badger of the Year honorees are selected based on leadership in their professions, service in their communities, and/or contributions to volunteer organizations. In short, they bring the Wisconsin Idea to life. Since 2004, WAA chapters have proudly celebrated dozens of alumni who make positive impacts in their roles as leaders, volunteers, educators, and advocates.

Sarah Schutt, chief alumni officer and WAA executive director, says, “In communities around the world, Badgers are making a difference. Research, public service, philanthropy, medicine, entrepreneurship — in nearly every discipline, you will find a UW–Madison graduate who is leading the way.”

Badger of the Year Awards are presented during local celebrations of Founders’ Day, which commemorates the first classes held at the University of Wisconsin on February 5, 1849, and UW–Madison’s subsequent legacy of academic excellence.

Learn more about WAA’s awards programs, highlighting outstanding alumni achievement.

2017 Badgers of the Year

Baltimore – David Warnock MS’82

Bay Area Badgers – Ronald Albers JD’74

Big Apple Badgers – Peter Greenberg ’72 and Andrew Bergman MA’66, PhD’70

Brown County – Steve Pipp ’81

Charlotte – Sally Ganz ’81

Chequamegon Bay – Michael Hines ’76, JD’81

Chicago – Karen Murphy ’93

Chippewa Valley – Robert Bradovich MA’92

Fond du Lac – Darold Treffert ’55, MD’58

Fox Valley – Nancy Heykes ’74, JD’77

Heart of Illinois – Cindy Dermody ’81

Indianapolis – Jean Ford ’76

London – Paul Collins ’58

Los Angeles – Linda Procci ’72, MS’74

Milwaukee – Tim Sheehy ’81

Orange County – Nicole Nelson ’03, MAcc’04

Portland – Gail Zuro ’88

San Antonio – Alan Chesler ’85, MS’87

San Diego – Greg Gossard ’01

Saint Louis – Allen Allred ’70

Tucson – Jessica Hill ’05

Twin Cities – Ron Leafblad ’65

Valley of the Sun – Daryl Lund ’63, MS’65, PhD’68

Wausau – Kevin O’Connell MD’79

2016 Badgers of the Year

Atlanta – Matthew Sitkowski PHD’12

Baltimore – Martha James-Hassan ’93

Bay Area Badgers – George Hamel, Jr. ’80

Big Apple Badgers – Gabe Stulman ’03

Boston – Mark Samels ’78

Brown CountyJohn Zakowski ’79, JD’83

Chicago – Roberto Rivera ’04

Chippewa Valley – Bob Hogseth ’71

Fond du Lac – Richard Kleinfeldt BBA’63, MBA’64

Fox Valley – John ’55, MD’58 and Sally ’58 Mielke

Heart of Illinois – Dr. Barbara Wilson BA’79, MA’82, PhD’85

IndianapolisDean Farr ’76

Marshfield – Reed Hall ’70

MilwaukeeJohn Daniels MS’72

Orange CountyJulie Karg ’00, MA’01

Saint Louis – Esley Hamilton MS’76

Sacramento – Bob Segalman PHD’72

Twin Cities – Alice Mortenson ’62

Wausau – Vickie Richmond Hawkins ’71, MBA’79

2015 Badgers of the Year

BaltimoreAyse Gurses PhD’05

Bay Area BadgersMariah Terhaar ’09

Brown CountyPatrick Warpinski ’85, DVM’91

Chequamegon BayJerald ’72 and Mary Phillips ’67

Chippewa ValleyStephanie Harvey ’92

Fond du LacDenise Retzleff ’80, MS’87

Fox Valley – Nancy Krueger JD’79

Heart of IllinoisSara Rusch ’74, MD’78

IndianapolisJim Sorgi x’03

2014 Badgers of the Year

Brown County – Michael Blecha ’69

Chequamegon Bay – Carol Lindsey ’87

Chippewa Valley – Steve Weld ’69, JD’72

Fond du Lac – Bob Panzer MS’87

Fox Valley – E. Alan Hartman ’68

Heart of Illinois – Bob Espeseth ’52, MS’56

Indianapolis – Dick Otto ’54, ’59

Los Angeles – Richard Middleton ’84

Marshfield – Thomas Stram ’61, MD’64

Milwaukee – Tina Chang ’94

Orange County – Donald Marske ’66, MS’67

Palm Beach Badgers – Nancy Johnson Nicholas ’55

Rochester – Jim ’58 and Judy ’60 Sloan

St. Louis – Jeffrey Parker Henderson ’94

Valley of the Sun – Laura Tait ’98

Waukesha – Donald Krause ’61 and JoAnne Krause ’61

Wausau – Jim O’Connell MA’75