Alumni Notes

You can learn about fellow University of Wisconsin-Madison graduates and submit your own professional and personal news here.

You can also share your memories and tributes of UW alumni who have passed in obituaries, including those who have died of COVID-19.

Search Alumni Notes

  • James Dobbins elected President of the American Association of Physicists in Medicine

    James Dobbins, PhD ’85 is president-elect of the American Association of Physicists in Medicine and will serve as president in 2021. He is professor of radiology, biomedical engineering, and physics at Duke University, and was the founding director of the medical physics graduate program at Duke. He has also just completed a five-year term as Associate Vice Provost of the university, overseeing the academic and programmatic aspects of Duke’s joint venture university in Kunshan, China.

  • Ernst R. Berndt PhD’72 Receives 2020 Shiskin Award

    Ernst R. (Ernie) Berndt PhD’72, Louis E. Seley Professor in Applied Economics, Emeritus, at the Massachusetts Institute of Technology, Alfred P. Sloan School of Management, has been selected to receive the 2020 Julius Shiskin Memorial Award for Economic Statistics.

  • A Chance Meeting: Melanie Holub Isaacs

    Melanie (Holub) Isaacs (BS, 2004) was a marine biologist at Shedd Aquarium in Chicago when she encountered a young guest with autism who was struggling to enjoy the museum. Isaacs saw a void and created Pal Experiences, a non-profit promoting access to public venues, for those effected by disabilities. Her work, primarily based out of Phoenix, AZ, has been highly acclaimed by the Mayor’s Office and has become an important part of disability access in the State of Arizona.

  • Alum’s nonprofit awarded fourth consecutive National Endowment for the Arts grant: Stacy Swadish Kosmatka

    Stacy Swadish Kosmatka, BA Journalism 1987, serves as the Executive Director of Historic Milwaukee, Inc. The nonprofit –with a focus on sharing Milwaukee’s history, architecture and the built environment — has received its fourth consecutive grant from the National Endowment for the Arts.

  • SME Announces 2020 College of Fellows: Khershed Cooper, PhD, FSME

    UW alumni, Khershed Cooper, was one of the seven SME members elected to the 2020 SME College of Fellows. Dr. Cooper is a program director for advanced manufacturing in the Civil, Mechanical and Manufacturing Innovation Division of the Engineering Directorate at the National Science Foundation.

  • FGM Architects Appoints Rajan Sheth (Class of 1972) to its Board of Directors

    FGM Architects Inc., a design firm with offices in the Midwest and Texas, is pleased to announce the appointment of Rajan Sheth to its Board of Directors.

  • Jacob Hamus Joins Middleton, Wis., Office of Ameriprise Financial

    Jacob Hamus, CFP®, Private Wealth Advisor, Vice-President, has joined the new Middleton office of Ameriprise Financial Services Inc., as a financial advisor in the Phelps Hamus Group.

  • Ryan Denu Named 2019 STAT News Wunderkind

    Ryan Denu was named a 2019 STAT Wunderkind. This award honors the next generation of scientific superstars to celebrate the unheralded heroes of science and medicine.

  • Obituary: Nicholas Milano ’54

    Mr. Nicholas Phillip Milano passed away peacefully on January 21, 2020, in Bloomingdale, IL, at age 97.

  • Steven James Ourada Honored with the National Archives Lifetime Achievement Award

    On May 6th Steven James Ourada was honored by the Archivist of the United States for 25 years of outstanding service and leadership at the Federal Records Center Program and the National Archives and Records Center Steven has provided unparalleled leadership, increased operational efficiency and mentored generations of NARA staff.