Skip Navigation

2015 Badger of the Year WAA HOI Chapter

Sara L. Rusch

Sara L. Rusch was appointed Regional Dean of the University of Illinois College of Medicine at Peoria in January 2008, becoming the college’s seventh regional dean since it was established in 1970.

Dr. Rusch practiced general internal medicine in a private practice group from 1981-2001 and as a hospitalist from 2001-2008. She served as the Chair of the Department of Medicine at the University of Illinois College of Medicine at Peoria (UICOMP) from 1995-2008, and held the same position for OSF Saint Francis Medical Center from 1993-2008. She also was the residency program director for the Department of Internal Medicine from 1995-1999 and from 2005-2006.

She graduated from the University of Wisconsin in 1974 with a BA degree in Molecular Biology and received her medical degree from the University of Wisconsin in 1978.

Dr. Rusch served as Governor for the Illinois downstate chapter of the largest medical specialty organization in the U.S. – the American College of Physicians – from 2005-2009. In April of 2010, Dr. Rusch was elected to ACP Mastership. She also has been recognized as an educator and mentor of young physicians, an academic leader and a skilled clinician, receiving the Athena Award from the Peoria Area Chamber of Commerce in 2011, UIC Woman of the Year in 2011 and Mother M. Frances Krasse Healthcare Professions Leader award from the YWCA in 2012.