Vincent Burns ’94 Retires after 25+ Years in Publishing

Burns, Vice President, Editorial, is retiring in September 2020 from ABC-CLIO in Santa Barbara, California, after 15+ years with the company and 25+ years in print and digital publishing.

Obituary: Stuart Friebert MA’53, PhD’58

Stuart Friebert died peacefully in his sleep at Hospice of the Western Reserve, Cleveland, in the early morning of Tuesday, June 23rd, due to the aftereffects of a fall.

Steven James Ourada Honored with the National Archives Lifetime Achievement Award

On May 6th Steven James Ourada was honored by the Archivist of the United States for 25 years of outstanding service and leadership at the Federal Records Center Program and the National Archives and Records Center Steven has provided unparalleled leadership, increased operational efficiency and mentored generations of NARA staff.

Brenda Williams, PLA, ASLA, Honored with Wisconsin ASLA Lifetime Achievement Award

Brenda Williams, PLA, ASLA, a principal with Quinn Evans, has been honored by the Wisconsin chapter of the American Society of Landscape Architects (ASLA) with its 2020 Lifetime Achievement Award. A leader in the preservation of cultural landscapes, Williams’ career has focused on historic landscapes, where she has championed the conservation, adaptation, and stewardship of culturally significant sites.

Laurie Jinkins makes history in Washington state: Laurie Jinkins, Todd Jinkins

Laurie Jinkins ’85, MA ’87, made history when she was sworn in as Speaker of the Washington State House of Representatives in January 2020. She is Washington’s first woman Speaker, as well as first lesbian Speaker.

Bear Brooch appears on MSNBC: Robert F. Schroeder

I created a brooch with the subject of the Bear for MSNBC commentator Jill Wine-Banks.

Edye and Jac Garner Honored at United Way’s Tocqueville Reception

Edye and Jac Garner received the 2019 United Way of Dane County Tocqueville Society Award during the Tocqueville Membership Reception at The Fluno Center on Thursday, October 3.

Mike Osborne wins education prize in history of science

The History of Science Society awarded Michael A. Osborne (Ph.D. History of Science ’87) and Professor of History of Science Emeritus at Oregon State University its 2019 Joseph H. Hazen Prize for excellence in education at its annual meeting in Utrecht, Netherlands.

50 Years of Marriage: Toby Skinner and Carol Carpenter

Carol Carpenter and Toby Skinner celebrated 50 years of marriage on August 23rd 2019.

2019-20 Academic Year Fellow at the Wilson Center in Washington, DC: Stuart N. Brotman

Stuart N. Brotman MA ‘75 is serving as a 2019-20 academic year Fellow at the Woodrow Wilson International Center for Scholars in Washington, DC.