Ernst R. Berndt PhD’72 Receives 2020 Shiskin Award

Ernst R. (Ernie) Berndt PhD’72, Louis E. Seley Professor in Applied Economics, Emeritus, at the Massachusetts Institute of Technology, Alfred P. Sloan School of Management, has been selected to receive the 2020 Julius Shiskin Memorial Award for Economic Statistics.

Evelyn Lecia Keaton ’91 BA selected for Lawyers of Distinction 2019

Evelyn Lecia Keaton ’91, BA in History/History of Culture; Iron Cross class of ’90; WUD Theatre Arts; was selected for inclusion in the Lawyers of Distinction 2019 class for her work as a lawyer in the transportation law field in a logistics/ CDL subspecialty.

2019-20 Academic Year Fellow at the Wilson Center in Washington, DC: Stuart N. Brotman

Stuart N. Brotman MA ‘75 is serving as a 2019-20 academic year Fellow at the Woodrow Wilson International Center for Scholars in Washington, DC.

In Retirement, Tim K. Pagel ’79 Pursues Twin Passions of Sports and the Arts

After retiring from clean energy leader NextEra Energy, where he led corporate executive and sustainability communications for many years, Tim K. Pagel ’79 is devoting much of his time to two of his loves: sports and the arts.

VA Radiologist wins Service to the Citizen Award: Michelle Dorsey, MD

Michelle Dorsey, MD, Chief of Radiology at the Phoenix VA Health Care System, is currently serving as the first Department of Veterans Affairs physician in the White House Leadership Fellowship program. Dorsey was recently recognized with a Service to the Citizen Award for her work in the White House Office of Management and Budget on the federal government’s Customer Experience Cross-Agency Priority Goal Interagency Team.

Eric Obscherning (BS’15) advises APEC dialogue on healthcare financing in Bangkok, Thailand

On November 5 in Bangkok, Thailand, members of the APEC Life Sciences Innovation Forum, which Eric Obscherning advises, collaborated with the Government of Thailand, the APEC Business Advisory Council and the Asia-Pacific Financial Forum to organize a dialogue on “Enhancing Innovation Healthcare Financing in Pursuit of Sustainable Healthcare.”

Group Nine Media Names Jeff Siegel SVP Of Distribution

Group Nine Media, parent company of digital brands Thrillist, The Dodo, Seeker and NowThis, today announced Jeff Siegel as SVP, Distribution.

Birth of Future Badger: John O’Horo, Alexandra O’Horo

Alexandra O’Horo (BS ’10) and John O’Horo (BS ’06, MD ’09) welcomed their first child, John Charles O’Horo Jr. in September of 2018.

Hans Obma Lands Recurring Role on Better Call Saul (AMC)

UW-Madison graduate Hans Obma has recently booked a slew of foreign roles in Hollywood. Since 2017 he played Hungarian, French, German and Croatian characters on primetime television shows. Obma is currently recurring as German-speaking “Adrian” on Better Call Saul (AMC), the acclaimed prequel to Breaking Bad.

VA Radiologist Awarded White House Leadership Fellowship: Michelle Dorsey

Michelle Dorsey, MD, Chief of Radiology at the Phoenix VA Health Care System, is now the first Department of Veterans Affairs physician to earn a White House Leadership Fellowship in the history of the prestigious leadership development program.