Distinguished Alumni Awards

The Distinguished Alumni Awards are the highest honor bestowed by the Wisconsin Alumni Association. Since 1936, WAA has been presenting the awards to the most prestigious graduates of UW-Madison for their professional achievements, contributions to society and support of the university.

Joey Soloway ’87

Joey Soloway is the creator of the groundbreaking Amazon series Transparent, a comedy that explores issues related to gender, sex, and identity through the lives of a complicated American family. Transparent received two Golden Globes, 24 Emmy nominations, and eight Emmy awards, including two for Soloway’s directing. For the series finale, Transparent transitioned into a movie-musical, cowritten by Joey and their sibling Faith Soloway.

Read More >

Dennis George Maki ’62, MS’64, MD’67

Physician Dennis Maki has an international reputation as one of the fathers of modern-day hospital infection prevention. Maki is the Ovid O. Meyer Professor of Medicine (emeritus) in the infectious diseases and pulmonary-critical care divisions at UW–Madison.

Read More >

Phill Gross ’82, MS’83

Phill Gross is known as a true advocate and champion for the underrepresented. He’s not only involved in supporting diversity on the UW–Madison campus — he is passionate about promoting it across the country.

Read More >

Diane Endres Ballweg ’85

Diane Endres Ballweg, who has been known to serve on dozens of committees and boards per year, stands out for her fierce commitment to giving of her time and talent in addition to her financial resources.

Read More >